Do you think it’s possible to earn an income from the Internet or in other words, make money online?

If anyone asked me the same question two years ago, I would have said: no, nope, nada!

Two years ago I couldn’t imagine, let alone believe in the virtual world. The virtual world where people can find work and make money. This world which has become a real thing today in my real life!

How did I get here? Before I tell you about my discovery of this wonderful world of online work, let me first explain exactly what I mean by the virtual world.

Online work is pretty much like any other normal work. You give someone your service and they pay you in exchange for the same.

There are a few differences between the two types though, such as:

  • all activities are on the Internet,
  • you don’t necessarily need a fixed office or even a fixed employer for that matter,
  • you can work from anywhere and you can definitely work from home! I think that’s the best thing about these kind of work.

Online jobs can be of several different kinds, types or nature. The two I’m familiar with and can vouch for are blogging and freelancing. I’ll give you an overview of both in a little while.

But before that I need to tell you how I got here. About 1 year and a few months ago, I was struggling with a lot of unemployment anxieties. It was during a sleep deprived night when I decided to do something about it.

I created a free blog to write and give my thoughts an outlet. It all started from there. One thing let to another and today I have a whole new world before me of hope and opportunities.

Educated Unemployed Indian Blog

Blogging is such a great creative tool. You don’t need to invest a lot or even anything at all. The community is comparatively kinder and encouraging than any other social media community.

The process of writing about your thoughts in your voice will give you perspective about life. It will change you, it has definitely changed me!

What about making money from blogging? Yes, blogging can turn out to be a very profitable business. But that’s not always true. A lot of bloggers make very little to no money at all. I’m also one of those bloggers. Then, why do I still do it?

Because, if it’s something you’re passionate about, you would do it with or without money. Also, blogging is indirectly helping me make money in ways I didn’t even plan or think of!

Freelancing is another aspect of my virtual world. This is where I have actually found what I was seeking for- self employment. And, when I checked wikipedia also said so!

This is how Wikipedia defines freelancers- “a term commonly used for a person who is self-employed and is not necessarily committed to a particular employer long-term.”

A person who is self-employed- that’s exactly the person I would like to be!

I learned freelancing by researching (online) all about it: what it is, how to do it, is it even possible and so on. I must confess, I watched way too many videos on the topic at a stretch on YouTube!

fiverr, freelancer, beamingbinita

I started off with fiverr and I’m still using it to find and get online work. If you’re wondering whether it works, it works and it pays. Though not very handsomely I’m afraid and finding work is also a very slow process initially.

I have received a few independent freelance jobs as well, all thanks to blogging again! It was an experience pleasant and satisfying beyond my expectations.

I have come to the end of this article and I have told you all about my virtual world of work. The world where I found what I was seeking for- a solution to my anxieties. I had no idea the solution was simply a reversal of the problem. The problem being unemployment and the solution self employment!

And finally, yes! You can make money online. I know I have!

I’m sharing a screenshot here to end this post about making money online. The screenshot was taken when I made money online, for the very first time!

make money online


💬 Do share your thoughts on this blogpost & on the topic of making money online. 

22 thoughts on “Can you (actually) make money online?

  1. This is so informative and the has so much potential. Freelancing, blogging, social media marketing, etc… is one of the best ways to get your brand out there to make money online. Thanks so much for sharing 🙂 This is going to help so many people that are willing to take action.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks a lot for sharing your freelancing journey.
    Frelancing is surely an exciting and nerve wracking experience at the same time. Since it happens online, there is the possibility of being scammed. Nevertheless, with a good support system through platforms like Fiverr, as you mentioned, then working for a client online becomes much more workable. I have seen this platform therisr.com lately and I do hope that it does provide a good service as Fiverr does.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.